CEOS-WGCV – SAR Subgroup
Working Group on Calibration and Validation
Synthetic Aperture Radar Subgroup

Workshop 2020

The Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) Working Group on Calibration and Validation (WGCV), SAR Subgroup, Synthetic Aperture Radar Workshop 2020 (CEOS SAR 2020) will be held at Canadian Space Agency (CSA) facilities in Longueuil, Canada, from October 6-9, 2020 . The Workshop will provide an open forum for the presentation and discussion of current and future issues related to the calibration and validation of space borne SAR sensors and data products. Please submit contributions to the following topics:

  • Calibration of future missions
  • Calibration methodology and techniques
  • Calibration targets and sites
  • Calibration requirements and definitions
  • Processing algorithms
  • Analysis Ready Data (ARD)
  • Innovative instrument concepts
  • Cross-calibration/Validation
  • Radiometric Validation
  • Field Campaigns/in situ measurements
  • Operational quality control
  • Calibration database
  • Product Validation
  • Artificial Intelligence for Cal/Val
  • Digital Elevation Models (DEM)
  • Calibration and validation of higher level products


Important Dates

Deadline Date
Deadline for abstract submissions May 15, 2020
Notification of paper acceptance July 3, 2020
Deadline for workshop registration September 4, 2020
CEOS SAR Workshop October 6-9, 2020

Abstract Submission

For abstract submission, information will be provided soon.

Each abstract should clearly and concisely state the problem addressed, the methodology used and the central conclusions. The title of the paper should clearly convey the essence of the work. Please avoid unusual acronyms. The abstract should contain 350-500 words , excluding author information.

Authors will be kept informed via e-mail (to the e-mail used to access the form) once the submission process of their paper in the Abstract Submission Form web page is successful.

Workshop Registration

Travel Visa

For information regarding Travel Visas, this will be provided shortly.

Guidelines for Preparation of Presentations

Oral presentations should be prepared such that a duration of 15 minutes is not exceeded. Another 5 minutes are planned for discussion.

The following presentation document types are accepted:

  • PowerPoint 2010: If you use a more recent version of powerpoint, please make sure to save your presentation in the older PowerPoint 2010 format. Please note that the conference laptop will only have a standard installation. Problems may occur when using unusual fonts (e.g. Asian characters), company logos, or non-standard formula editors.
  • PDF

A conference laptop for presentations is available. Please provide your presentation on a USB-stick to one of the workshop organization members before your session starts. It will be copied to the conference laptop to avoid any delay during the session. Please refer to the Final Workshop Program (to be published on our website soon) for the session and time of your presentation. We would like to ask you to make yourself known to your session chair prior to the session so that he/she knows the presentation will take place.

Scientific Committee

Member Affiliation Country
Mario Azcueta CONAE Argentina
Richard Bamler DLR Germany
Antoni Broquetas UPC Spain
Bruce Chapman JPL USA
Laura Frulla CONAE Argentina
Stéphane Côté CSA Canada
Jens Reimann DLR Germany
Michael Eineder DLR Germany
Patrick Klenk DLR Germany
Christoph Gierull DRDC Canada
Dirk Geudtner ESA The Netherlands
Wen Hong IECAS China
Alan Thompson MDA Canada
Peter Meadows BAE UK
Franz Meyer UAF Alaska, USA
Jorge Milovich CONAE Argentina
Nuno Miranda ESA Italy
Andrea Monti-Guarnieri POLIMI Italy
Alberto Moreira DLR Germany
Keith Morrison Cranfield University UK
Paul Rosen JPL USA
Brian Hawkins JPL USA
Marco Schwerdt DLR Germany
Masanobu Shimada TDU Japan
Takeshi Motohka JAXA The Netherlands
Ronald Muellerschoen JPL USA
Marc Thibeault CONAE Argentina
Andrea Torre TASI Italy
Ridha Touzi CCRS/NRC Canada
Ramon Torres ESA The Netherlands
Dan Williams MDA Canada
Yoshio Yamaguchi Niigata University Japan
Manfred Zink DLR Germany
Medhavy Thankappan Geoscience Australia Australian

Organizing Committee


Workshop Venue

The Workshop will be hosted at Canadian Space Agency (CSA) facilities in Longueuil, Canada


A list of hotels nearby the Workshop venue are TBD.

Further Questions